Moqueca's Adventures

tinder date #4 - pizza with a PhD

Lead up: I'm a little hesitant with this one, he mentioned straight away he has troubles socializing with people here, but given that he's been in the country since April, I would've expected him to pick up Norwegian a fair amount by now (I'm only here a year and I'm expected to pick up a good amount already - but maybe my Norwegian friends are just being mean to me).

And he's been a little too fast in his replies to me. He sent me some funny gifs of his trying to learn ice skating after I told him of my snowboarding adventures, then he mentioned how he had back pain before he came up with the brilliant idea of "hey we should go ice skating next weekend."

Good. I didn't want to ask, mostly because I am lazy and talking to too many guys on Tinder right now. I shot back a "can't next weekend, traveling" and he sent me an "enjoy the trip" before adding another request, this time for a drink after work (I don't work).

I suggested Wednesday, and he ended up suggesting a couple bars and a pizza place. Since I've been craving pizza for a good while and I didn't really want to pay for doubly overpriced drinks, I took the pizza place. And now we wait.

Venue/Cuisine: Italian pizza place (it looked highly rated online).

Conversation: It was okay, it was a bit loud in there and his accent was a bit hard sometimes to understand. He poked some fun at my american units, but was impressed at how I spoke in celsius and kilometers instead of miles and fahrenheit. It was more pleasant than I had expected, and we ended up walking around. The conversation was a bit easier once we left the restaurant.

First Impressions/Random Thoughts: He was nicer than I expected and not too overly awkward either. His personality was nice and fairly wholesome, but I couldn't find much interest in his studies (I hated mechanics in physics and he's studying fluid dynamics or something like that).

Overall Experience: It was a pleasant date but I couldn't really see it going anywhere. I enjoyed our time together though and it was fun walking around and checking out the lights. We spotted a cool alley that was lit up and we walked to one end and back and took a couple selfies.

Next Steps: I told him to not expect anything, that I'd look through my calendar and see if I was available for a second date this month. But I'm not planning on reaching out until January - he did pay for my dinner and drink so I feel obliged to offer him a second date at least.