Moqueca's Adventures

tinder date #10 - walk with a busted knee

Lead Up: Weird, I felt odd about it. He said to not read too much into the Tinder stuff, but... that's how I am. I'm not gonna NOT read into it, and he just had English on his bio. How was iiiiiiiiiii supposed to know that he was German? Everyone looks the same here in Europe (before you come at me, I'm not European and everyone is bundled up half the time anyways, where am I supposed to distinguish facial features from the bundle of scarves?? I haven't had a chance to see people's faces in months) (This is a lie, I am actually not wearing my glasses half the time and I generally ignore appearances, like for example I still can't tell what color eyes my roommates even have and I've lived with them for six months, I also can't even tell height which is somehow probably even worse, like short guys look short short and people taller than me still... look about my height).

Venue: The great great outdoors (it was gorgeous outside with all the fresh snow)

Cuisine: grabbed a sandwich from a local bakery, he got a coffee. He mentioned he's addicted to coffee, which was kinda an ick... but I think everything about him was just an ick. I was cranky and tired and hungry.

Conversation: I let him lead most of the conversation. He.. brought up his morals a fair bit, which started to annoy me. He looked better than in his photos, but given that he'd just come this last month, already knew Norway a lot and picked up Norwegian quickly, I just... idk. It felt odd speaking with him. I had a lot of moments where I was just quiet, since I couldn't figure out a good place to continue the conversation. He was also a bit late coming to meet me, and didn't really.. let me know if he'd left or not (I just want a message as a heads up, same as I do with my dates, which I also turn up late to but at least they KNOW). Maybe it's double standards, but uhh yeah. I'm not usually more than 10-15 minutes late, but he was a good 20+ without a message, so it was awkward trying to see if he was even around or not. Plus he wasn't into alpine skiing or just... it was weird.

First Impressions/Random Thoughts: My knee was kinda busted, so the walking was rough. I made an excuse about homework to leave, and we walked ALL the way back. Pro tho, he did show me a cool new viewpoint and we walked through some new neighborhoods I hadn't really seen in the daytime before.

Overall Experience: Thinking back, I was pretty cranky both because of my knee, his obvious distaste for busses (I'm a slightly lazy person, okay? Just.. vibe with it) and the fact that I hadn't eaten yet. Plus he left in such a weird way, I'm not sure people know how to leave a date, but I guess I'm usually used to at least walking to someone's house and seeing them off or the bus, but we just.. left? At the pizzabakeren. Despite the fact we were going to the same direction anyways. It was odd.

You know what, actually? I think he reminded me too much of my ex. I think that's why I didn't even want to make it work. From the way he spoke of things, his disdain for busses & just how.. good he was at school and made it seem easy. It just screamed my ex's name and I was not here for it. He also walked fast, and I like to take my time.

Next Steps: He sent me his number in case I wanted to go on a walk again. I'm not sure I want to follow up, but I don't know how to be nice about it. I'll sit on it for a few more days while I figure out how to (nicely) say no thanks.